20 Questions with Katie Hardy of Dracula: A Rock Opera


You may remember Katie Hardy from last season’s The Legend of Sleepy Hollow, Boeing-Boeing and Breaking Up is Hard to Do.  We are excited that Katie will join us again onstage this season in Dracula: A Rock Opera.  Last season she was awarded the Andes Award for Favorite Performance in a Musical – Female for her work in Breaking Up is Hard to Do and she also received the Andes Award for M.V.P. (Most Versatile Performer).  When the 2010-2011 season opens, she will be portraying Lucy Westenra, the young woman with too many suitors and too many choices to make.  Come to the show and see if she makes the right choices.  Below are her 20 questions!

Single Tickets for Dracula: A Rock Opera will go on sale September 20th at 10:00 am.  Call the Box Office at 248-377-3300 for more ticket information.  For more information on the theatre, visit us on the web at www.mbtheatre.com.

~Travis W. Walter, Artistic Director

Katie Hardy plays Lucy Westenra in Dracula: A Rock Opera

20 questions with Katie Hardy

Where did you grow up? Born and raised in Bloomfield Township

Where did you go to school? St. Hugo’s (K-8th), Lahser HS, then Oakland University for my BFA in Music Theatre.

Who in your life has been your biggest influence? My close group of friends

What is your dream role? There are a few: Elle (Legally Blonde), Clio/Kira (Xanadu), and Elizabeth (Pride and Prejudice)

Do you believe in Vampires? I think the idea of vampires stretches the imagination beyond what is medically possible. (I’m a bit of a realist)

Why do you think people today are obsessed with Vampires? They are fascinating, I think they represent everything we wish for as human beings. Eternal life, access to great wealth and power, and good looks!

Favorite Restaurant? Cafe Japon in Ann Arbor! It’s a fusion of Japanese and French cuisine and it’s absolutely delicious!

Last scary movie you saw? I’m not big on horror movies especially slasher films, but the last “scary” movie I watched was Bram Stoker’s Dracula.

Last play you saw? I recently saw The 39 Steps off-Broadway and it was fantastic!

Last book you read? I am currently re-reading the Sookie Stackhouse novels, which are the basis for HBO’s TV series “True Blood”.

Next project after Dracula? On the hunt!

Favorite place to visit? I love going for long walks at Cranbrook, it’s incredibly tranquil there and a good place to put things in perspective. As for going out of town, I love going to New York to see friends and shows.

Number of siblings and where you fit into the count? One older brother (Hi Michael!) He’s the best 🙂

Favorite Musician? Lately I’ve been listening to Owl City, but Jason Mraz is always a favorite. As far as Broadway singers go I am a huge fan of Sutton Foster.

Favorite Playwright? Have to go with Shakespeare on this one.

Were you a “Crest” Kid? (if not what toothpaste do you use to clean your fangs) Sure was! I used the kids’ blue sparkle toothpaste. Having an orthodontist for a father means brushing… A LOT.

Favorite onstage blooper? I have a reputation for not being able to see well when the lights go to black during a show and it has caused me a number of problems in the past (even though it’s dark, the audience can still hear you run into that wall)

Favorite pastime? I love going for walks and I love reading. I even occasionally try and combine the two with disastrous results.

Biggest pet peeve? Uncleanliness! (is that a word?)

Finish this sentence: “If I knew then what I know now… I wouldn’t have __________”

sweat the small stuff! I’m trying to take things as they come and enjoying the moment instead of worrying about the things I can’t change.”


Leave a Reply

