20 Questions with Renee Turner of Dracula: A Rock Opera


7 down: 6 to go, before we get through all 13 adult actors in Dracula: A Rock Opera during the 20 Questions series!  Next up… Renee Turner! Renee graduated from Oakland University a few years back and has joined the family here at Meadow Brook Theatre this season as an Acting/Administration intern.  She will be playing many roles in Dracula: A Rock Opera as well as understudying all of the female roles in the show!  She has her work cut out for her, but she is an extremely talented performer and is up to the challenge.  Enjoy her twenty questions and then come see her onstage!!!

Remember, Dracula: A Rock Opera tickets won’t go on sale until September 20 at 10:00 am.  Call the box office at 248-377-3300 to purchase tickets.  For more information please visit our website at www.mbtheatre.com.

~Travis W. Walter, Artistic Director

Renee is an Acting intern at MBT this season

20 questions with Renee Turner

Where did you grow up?  Rochester, MI

Where did you go to school?  Rochester Adams High School, Oakland University: Bachelor in Performing Arts

Who in your life has been your biggest influence?  My family.

What is your dream role?  I would actually love to be a backup singer on a big music tour. I’m also a little too obsessed with American Idol.

Do you believe in Vampires?  Um, I don’t think so. But I once overheard two grown men trying to convince their friend that vampires were 100% real. I do still believe in Santa Claus!

Why do you think people today are obsessed with Vampires?  Because they don’t believe in the Tooth Fairy, or Santa Claus or the Easter Bunny anymore, so they want something to believe in!

Favorite Restaurant?  Becco.  New York City, on restaurant row 46th St. between 8th and 9th avenue! Favorite MI restaurant…probably Kruse and Muer.

Last scary movie you saw?  I don’t handle scary movies very well. I’m still trying to get over my fear of the movie “Sixth Sense.”  I did see “1408” in theatres, and I had my hand over my eyes the whole time.  “Beetlejuice” is about the scariest thing I can handle

Last play you saw?  Lend me a Tenor with Tony Shaloub and Anthony LaPaglia on Broadway.

Last book you read?  The Secret

Next project after Dracula?  I’m working on all the shows at Meadow Brook this season in some capacity!

Favorite place to visit?  Spetses, Greece. It’s magical!!!

Number of siblings and where you fit into the count?  I have two younger brothers!

Favorite Musician?  Oh boy, soooo many! I like Corrine Bailey Rae a lot. Favorite band…Huey Lewis and the News!!

Favorite Playwright?  Neil Labute.  Although I recently saw Christopher Walken and Sam Rockwell in “A Behanding in Spokane” written by Martin McDonagh and it was absolutely crazy but hilarious. I should read more of his plays!

Were you a “Crest” Kid? (if not what toothpaste do you use to clean your fangs)  I really liked CloseUp. It had a great Cinnamon flavor.

Favorite onstage blooper?  It was at Avon Players, and we had to make an entrance up the side stairs attached to the stage. My friend Matt thought we were late for our entrance (we weren’t) and he pushed me and said “Go!”  It made me trip, and my shoe slipped off my foot and went flying through the air and hit a woman in the audience. She was okay though.

Favorite pastime?  Spending time with my family

Biggest pet peeve? When people use the word “pet peeve.” That word has always bugged me for some weird reason.

Finish this sentence: “If I knew then what I know now… I wouldn’t have  __________”

…Stressed out! It’s not that serious!”

One thought on “20 Questions with Renee Turner of Dracula: A Rock Opera

Leave a Reply

