20 Questions with Caleb Gilbert of Dracula: A Rock Opera


Today we talk to Caleb Gilbert who portrays Dr. Seward in Dracula: A Rock Opera.  Caleb is new to the Meadow Brook Theatre stage but audiences will love him.  As the would-be suitor of Lucy Westenra, Caleb will pull at your heartstrings, and his voice floats to the rafters during his ballads.  Mark my words… the ladies will swoon!  Here’s his 20 questions!

Single Tickets for Dracula: A Rock Opera will go on sale September 20th at 10:00 am.  Call the Box Office at 248-377-3300 for more ticket information.  For more information on the theatre, visit us on the web at www.mbtheatre.com.

~Travis W. Walter, Artistic Director

MBT newcomer Caleb Gilbert plays Dr. Seward in Dracula: A Rock Opera

20 questions with Caleb Gilbert

Where did you grow up?  I grew up in the “Downriver” area of Trenton

Where did you go to school?  I attended Riverview High School and I graduated from Wayne State University with a Bachelor of Fine Arts.

Who in your life has been your biggest influence?  My mom and dad. It’s amazing that they put up with all five of us kids.

What is your dream role?  I think it would be great to play a superhero in feature film.

Do you believe in Vampires?  Uhhm…..no.

Why do you think people today are obsessed with Vampires?  It seems like people want to live forever, I guess Vampires are a fantasy that reflect that for people. I’m more of a werewolf guy.

Favorite Restaurant?  Currently: Sushi dot Com in Ann Arbor. THE best!

Last scary movie you saw?  The Haunting. The old black and white, classic version.

Last play you saw?  A Christmas Carol in Comedia dell ‘arte.

Last book you read?  Across the Nightingale Floor by Lian Hearn. An excellent story about feudal Japan.

Next project after Dracula?  Lots of writing, lots of rehearsing, then back to the studio for more recording with the Black House Ceilidh.

Favorite place to visit?  Mackinac Island. It’s such a romantic place. My wife and I want to buy a house there one day.

Number of siblings and where you fit into the count?  The oldest of Five. Three younger brothers, and one younger sister.

Favorite Musician?  Anything by  Sting or Kevin Tyler. But I have many favorites.

Favorite Playwright?  I don’t want to sound cliche but William Shakespeare is my all time favorite.

Were you a “Crest” Kid? (if not what toothpaste do you use to clean your fangs)  Crest sounds about right.

Favorite onstage blooper?  When I had hair…I grew it really long once. I got it caught in a trap door on stage and it ripped a good bit of it out of my head!

Favorite pastime?  Hanging out with my wife and my kids. Having friends over for dinner.

Biggest pet peeve?  Michigan roads during construction. SERIOUSLY!

Finish this sentence: “If I knew then what I know now… I wouldn’t have ____________”
…changed a thing. I am very thankful for all the blessings in my life.”

Leave a Reply

