20 Questions with Paul Hopper of Dracula, A Rock Opera


If you are a regular theatre-goer of Meadow Brook Theatre than you’ve probably seen Paul Hopper in one show or another.  He is an amazingly talented man and he is playing Van Helsing in Dracula, A Rock Opera.  He stops by our 20 Questions series today and I hope you enjoy getting a chance to know him a little better before you come see his outstanding performance in the show.  It has been a thrill to work with Paul and I hope we get to work together again very soon!

Single Tickets for Dracula: A Rock Opera went on sale September 20th at 10:00 am.  There have been reports of tickets literally flying out the door… So call the Box Office at 248-377-3300 to reserve your tickets today!  For more information on the theatre, visit us on the web at www.mbtheatre.com.

~Travis W. Walter, Artistic Director

Paul Hopper portrays Dr. Van Helsing in Dracula, A Rock Opera

20 questions with Paul Hopper

Where did you grow up? Mostly in Detroit, but I spent my sophomore year in Pinconning (yeah.  The cheese) and ended up in Mount Clemens.

Where did you go to school? I graduated L’anse Creuse High School.

Who in your life has been your biggest influence?  All the Directors I have ever worked with.  Great people.

What is your dream role?  Sweeney in Sweeney Todd.

Do you believe in Vampires? No.  Vampires are a Myth.

Why do you think people today are obsessed with Vampires? I wouldn’t say obsessed exactly.  It’s just fun to be scared knowing deep down nothing is really going to hurt you.

Favorite Restaurant?  Kruse and Muer,  Rochester, MI.

Last scary movie you saw?  The Wolfman with Anthony Hopkins.

Last play you saw? Curtains at Dexter Players.  My Daughter was in it.

Last book you read?  Bite Me by Christopher Moore.  Yeah, it’s about Vampires.  Very funny but I would suggest reading You Suck first.

Next project after Dracula?  A Christmas Carol at Meadow Brook then I’m off to San Diego to do The Drawer Boy.

Favorite place to visit?  Hawaii and Seattle.  Visiting the in-laws.

Number of siblings and where you fit into the count? Three.  All boys.  I was in the middle but there’s only two of us left so that makes me Paul The Elder.

Favorite Musician?  Paul Simon, Steven Sondheim, and anything by Areosmith.

Favorite Playwright?  There’s too many to list, all for different reasons.

Were you a “Crest” Kid? (if not what toothpaste do you use to clean your fangs)  Probably but I don’t remember,  but Remberant keeps your fangs their whitest.

Favorite onstage blooper?  Hum… maybe the time my pants fell down doing Fallstaff in Merry Wives.

Favorite pastime?  Woodworking.

Biggest pet peeve?  Rudeness.

Finish this sentence: “If I knew then what I know now… I wouldn’t have __________”

…I don’t think I would do anything differently.  It’s all been a learning experience.  Sure, there are times when you slap yourself in the head and say “Why did I do that!” but as the old saying goes “Whatever doesn’t kill you makes you stronger.”

One thought on “20 Questions with Paul Hopper of Dracula, A Rock Opera

Leave a Reply

