20 Questions with Andrea Mellos of Dracula, A Rock Opera


Andrea Mellos is next up in our 20 Questions series.  She plays the beautiful Wilhelmina, love of Jonathan Harker, in Dracula, A Rock Opera.  Season ticket holders at MBT will recall her performances as young Judy in Beyond the Rainbow and most recently Lois in Breaking Up is Hard to Do.  I love working with Andrea.  We started working together many years ago in A Christmas Carol and she is one of the easiest actors to direct.  She puts her heart and soul into everything she does and gives every performance her all.  Read her 20 questions and come see her in the show… you won’t be disappointed!

Single Tickets for Dracula: A Rock Opera went on sale September 20th at 10:00 am.  There have been reports of tickets literally flying out the door… So call the Box Office at 248-377-3300 to reserve your tickets today!  For more information on the theatre, visit us on the web at www.mbtheatre.com.

~Travis W. Walter, Artistic Director


Andrea Mellos portrays Wihlelmina in Dracula, A Rock Opera

20 questions with Andrea Mellos

Where did you grow up?  Livonia, MI

Where did you go to school?  I attended Stevenson High School and received a BFA in theatre from Wayne State University.

Who in your life has been your biggest influence?  My mother, the strongest and most beautiful woman I know! I love you Alice.

What is your dream role?  I would love to play Roxy and or Velma in “Chicago”

Do you believe in Vampires?  Short story:  When I worked at Jacobson’s Department Store back in the day, my little sister Leah came to visit me.  At the time she was 8 years old and was walking around the store with my mother, when all of the sudden she claimed to see a very attractive, well dressed man who apparently flashed her his sharp, white fangs.  She was mortified and clung to mom for dear life the rest of the day.  So, sure why not they may exist.  According to Leah they hang out at your favorite store.  Moral of the story: Wear garlic while shopping.

Why do you think people today are obsessed with Vampires?  They are seductive and alluring.  Eric from “True Blood” …need I say more.

Favorite Restaurant?  Molyvos in NYC!!  It’s a Greek fusion menu and right next to Carnegie Hall.  I used to work there and it’s amazing!! Go visit and order the spanakopita (spinach pie) and a watermelon martini.

Last scary movie you saw?  “Paranormal Activity.”  I didn’t sleep for a month.

Last play you saw?  “Don’t Be Cruel: The Life and Times of the King” featuring the lovely and talented Jennifer George.

Last book you read?  Bram Stoker’s Dracula

Next project after Dracula?  Janet Van De Graaff in “The Drowsy Chaperone” at Performance Network Theatre.

Favorite place to visit? New York City

Number of siblings and where you fit into the count? I’m the oldest of 4 even though sometimes I act like the youngest.

Favorite Musician?  I’m on an Avett Brother’s kick lately; Sufjan Stevens and the Beatles.

Favorite Playwright?  Donald Margulies and Theresa Rebeck

Were you a “Crest” Kid? (if not what toothpaste do you use to clean your fangs) Crest all the way!

Favorite onstage blooper? It was in “Beyond the Rainbow,” my zipper on my dress completely broke during a very quick ‘quick change’ and my whole backside was exposed!!  Throughout the entire scene I had to play it sliding against the wall.  Needless to say, we all had a good laugh about it when I got off stage! Ah, the beauty of live theatre!

Favorite pastime?  Shopping and teaching myself how to play the guitar…I need help! Any teachers out there want a student!?

Biggest pet peeve?  The word “Anywhoo” …it makes me twitch.

Finish this sentence: “If I knew then what I know now… I wouldn’t have __________”

…taken for granted the time spent with my loved ones who have since passed on, especially my brother Stephen.  I know now to love and live each day like it’s your last.”

One thought on “20 Questions with Andrea Mellos of Dracula, A Rock Opera

Leave a Reply

