20 Questions with Rusty Mewha of Dracula, A Rock Opera


All good things must come to an end and so too must our 20 Questions series for Dracula, A Rock Opera.  I hope you have enjoyed meeting the cast and will feel that you know a little more about them before you come to see them on stage.  Keep checking the blog for more fun as Dracula, A Rock Opera opens to the public this Wednesday October 6, 2010!

Rusty Mewha wraps up our 20 questions series, but he is no stranger to Meadow Brook Theatre.  Many will remember him from Kong’s Night Out, Biloxi Blues, The Legend of Sleepy Hollow and By Jeeves.  Rusty is an extremely versatile actor and we are fortunate to have him in the MBT family.  Fans of Rusty’s will be happy to know they will get another chance to see him on stage this season with The 39 Steps.  He is fantastic to work with and I hope you enjoy his 20 questions!

Single Tickets for Dracula: A Rock Opera went on sale September 20th at 10:00 am.  There have been reports of tickets literally flying out the door… So call the Box Office at 248-377-3300 to reserve your tickets today!  For more information on the theatre, visit us on the web at www.mbtheatre.com.

~Travis W. Walter, Artistic Director

Rusty Mewha portray's Arthur Holmwood in Dracula, A Rock Opera

20 questions with Rusty Mewha

Where did you grow up?  I was born in the Dallas area, lived in Portland, Oregon.  My family moved to Oakland county when I was 12.

Where did you go to school?  Walled Lake Western High School, Wayne State University – BA English

Who in your life has been your biggest influence?  The people who have most influenced me are my wife and kids.

What is your dream role?  Chris in Miss Saigon and Hamlet

Do you believe in Vampires? While I believe there are plenty of people who suck, I don’t believe in vampires.

Why do you think people today are obsessed with Vampires?  Because of slick marketing campaigns.

Favorite Restaurant?  Some sushi joint in Union Square, NYC my wife and I twice stumbled upon (Can’t remember its name.

Last scary movie you saw?  Coppola’s Dracula

Last play you saw?  Our Town at The Purple Rose

Last book you read?  Dracula by Bram Stoker

Next project after Dracula?  The 39 Steps at MBT

Favorite place to visit?  NYC

Number of siblings and where you fit into the count?  I have a brother who is 15 months younger.

Favorite Musician?  Jeff Buckley

Favorite Playwright?  Sam Shepard

Were you a “Crest” Kid? (if not what toothpaste do you use to clean your fangs) I truly don’t remember.  These days I like Tom’s All Natural.

Favorite onstage blooper?  When B.J. Love lost his mustache in By Jeeves at MBT, and I broke, BAD, leading to the whole cast and audience rolling with uncontrollable laughter.

Favorite pastime?  Tromping through the woods with my kids.

Biggest pet peeve?  Paying for car repairs.

Finish this sentence: “If I knew then what I know now… I wouldn’t have __________”

…answered questions like this for all to read.”

One thought on “20 Questions with Rusty Mewha of Dracula, A Rock Opera

Leave a Reply

