A Cup of Cheer with Sara Catheryn Wolf of A Christmas Carol


Sara Catheryn Wolf stops by to have a Cup of Cheer with me.  She portrays the Spirit of Christmas Past in A Christmas Carol and has been doing a remarkable job of it for many years.  I’m thrilled that she is returning this season to delight the hearts of the young and reignite those of the old.  Don’t miss her moving performance.  You don’t want to regret it.

Ticket for A Christmas Carol are on sale now.  Call the Box Office for tickets at 248-377-3300 or go online to ticketmaster.com

~Travis W. Walter, Artistic Director

 

Sara Catheryn Wolf portrays the Spirit of Christmas Past in A Christmas Carol

A Cup of Cheer with Sara Catheryn Wolf

How many years have you been in A Christmas Carol? I think this is number 9

What is your favorite part of the holiday season? The spicy smells, the food, family and remembering Christmas as a child.

What is your favorite part of the story A Christmas Carol? Of being a part of it-the people I work with. Of the story-the message that we can all change ourselves, and that anything that we do can be forgiven. That we are worthy of forgiveness.

There are many school matinees for A Christmas Carol, what is fun/special about performing for children? Knowing that this might be the first play that they have seen, and hoping they will enjoy it and become life-long theater lovers. I like that we can offer them a little magic, and help them to believe. This world is tough on believing, and it’s great to help someone believe.

Bob Cratchit asks Scrooge for “one more piece of coal” do you prefer your house to be “warm as toast”, “just right”, or “cold enough to hang meat”? Just right, please!

Scrooge promises to find Peter Cratchit a job and Martha almost misses Christmas dinner because she has to work … what kind of jobs did you have when you were young like Peter and Martha? My first job was a carhop at Eddie’s Drive-In in Harrison Twp. I was 14 or 15 when I worked there.

Favorite Christmas Drink.. Egg Nog or Wassail? I think I like Wassail a little more than Egg-Nog. You can drink more.

Scrooge loves money… When you get a present, do you prefer money or a gift? I like gifts because they are more personal. That’s not to say that I don’t like money, too…

Scrooge is visited by two charity men early in the show… have you done any charity work or are there charity organizations that you support? I support the Humane Society and the ASPCA. I love animals, and so many have been abandoned-especially with the recent financial troubles. I’ve also worked with (and adopted a few) parrots that were relinquished by their owners and that needed to find new homes.

Scrooge is visited by four ghosts… do you believe in ghosts? I want to really badly. I think I do.

If you were visited by the spirit of Christmas past how would you welcome looking back on your life? It would be bittersweet. I regret some things, but learned from them. I’ve had moments of extreme joy-the kind of joy that only kids can have-I would love those simple, happy moments that weren’t tainted with the grown-up sensibility.

Next project after A Christmas Carol? We’ll see what the future brings. You know, counting chickens, etc.

The Fezziwigs host the best parties. Any memorable moments from holiday parties you’d like to share? I think there were a few really good ones when I was at college…

The spread at the Fezziwig’s party is unbelievable…. what is your favorite holiday food? I’m a sucker for Pumpkin Pie, sweet potatoes with marshmallows, and this punch that my Granny used to make.

Other favorite Charles Dickens novels? A Tale of Two Cities.

Why do you think so many families come to see this show year after year? Because the story has real meaning. Tradition also means something-a lot of traditions I could honestly do without. But this is something people do that makes them be better to themselves as well as others.

What is your favorite holiday? I get excited about them all.

Baking is huge during the holidays, do you bake? if so what do you like to bake? I like baking apple tarts. They’re good, spicy and warm. Yum.

What message do you hope the audience takes with them about A Christmas Carol? That we are responsible for what we do, and that there is nothing keeping us from becoming better people. We can’t use past unhappiness for present cruelty.

Finish this sentence: “My favorite gift that I ever received during the holiday season was _______”

…Betty Crocker Easy Bake Oven and my Lite-Brite”

One thought on “A Cup of Cheer with Sara Catheryn Wolf of A Christmas Carol

  1. Travis, what a great blog!! This is the first time I am reading it!! Thanks for doing this and making MBT even greater!

Leave a Reply

