A Cup of Cheer with Michele Peters of A Christmas Carol


Who’s ready for a Cup of Cheer???  Michele Peters stops by to share with us a little bit about what makes A Christmas Carol so meaningful to her.  Michele was in the show with me for many years and I have always enjoyed working with her.  She brings a wonderful energy to the stage and her kindness is infectious!  This year she continues the tradition of playing multiple roles and on top of it all she will be caroling again!!!  Enjoy her ‘cup of cheer’ and then come to the show!

Tickets for A Christmas Carol are on sale now!!!  Call the box office for tickets at 248-377-3300!

See you at the show!

~Travis W. Walter, Artistic Director

 

Michele Peters plays numerous roles in A Christmas Carol

 

 

A Cup of Cheer with Michele Peters

 

How many years have you been in A Christmas Carol? This is my seventh year

What is your favorite part of the holiday season? Enjoying traditions year after year

What is your favorite part of the story A Christmas Carol? The redemption Scrooge feels and his childlike behavior on Christmas morning.  It’s a good lesson to hear year after year that we can fix mistakes – it’s never too late!

There are many school matinees for A Christmas Carol, what is fun/special about performing for children? Their energy is intoxicating.  I love to hear them react to different parts of the play and it keeps the play fresh for me.

Bob Cratchit asks Scrooge for “one more piece of coal” do you prefer your house to be “warm as toast”, “just right”, or “cold enough to hang meat”? Like Goldilocks says, “Not too hot, not too cold but just right”.

Scrooge promises to find Peter Cratchit a job and Martha almost misses Christmas dinner because she has to work … what kind of jobs did you have when you were young like Peter and Martha? I fortunately didn’t have to work at such a young age, however, I did get my first “real” job at the age of 15 as a bottle return girl at our local grocery store.

Favorite Christmas Drink.. Egg Nog or Wassail? Wassail

Scrooge loves money… When you get a present, do you prefer money or a gift? Well, I can always find good use for money but the fact that someone thought about me enough to get me a gift scores big points!

Scrooge is visited by two charity men early in the show… have you done any charity work or are there charity organizations that you support? Yes – charity work and monetary support.  I’m always looking for new ways to get involved.  I recently donated blood to red cross at a drive that was in honor of a friend who passed away.  I plan on donating regularly now.

Scrooge is visited by four ghosts… do you believe in ghosts? I do.  I believe in the human soul and the possibility that ghosts or souls can be around us doesn’t seem too far fetched to me.

If you were visited by the spirit of Christmas past how would you welcome looking back on your life? I would be excited to take the journey back with Christmas Past.  I have great memories of my past.

Next project after A Christmas Carol? Nothing planned – open for whatever comes along!

The Fezziwigs host the best parties. Any memorable moments from holiday parties you’d like to share? No juicy office party stories here.  A good one from childhood is that every Christmas Eve we would go to grandma’s house for a party.  One particular year, someone had a radio show on where the announcer was reporting on sighting Santa in the sky.  I wanted to leave immediately and get to bed so he wouldn’t pass over our house!!

The spread at the Fezziwig’s party is unbelievable…. what is your favorite holiday food? A nice Christmas ham or turkey is always good.  I also like to make Beef Wellington on Christmas Eve.

Other favorite Charles Dickens novels? I love Oliver Twist (and the musical Oliver!).

Why do you think so many families come to see this show year after year? It goes back to traditions.  It is a great story to help you get in the holiday mood and if you can come year after year with your family – you make a tradition that feels good.

What is your favorite holiday? Christmas – of course!  (Halloween was always right up there when I was a kid).

Baking is huge during the holidays, do you bake? if so what do you like to bake? Besides my traditional roll and cut cookies from a childhood recipe, I have started a new tradition with my family.  I bake cinnamon rolls on Christmas Eve that we eat on Christmas morning.  So good!!

What message do you hope the audience takes with them about A Christmas Carol? It’s never too late to start living a good life!  Enjoy little things and treat people like you would like to be treated.

Finish this sentence: “My favorite gift that I ever received during the holiday season was________” …My magic 8 ball – I was convinced it really worked!!”

 

2 thoughts on “A Cup of Cheer with Michele Peters of A Christmas Carol

Leave a Reply

