This week…


Hello everyone!

So how about his weather! Wow. It is January and it feels a little like spring. What is going on? Anyway, today we are going to meet another intern, this week it is Theresa McKenzie.

What is your name? What department are you interning in?

Theresa McKenzie, Prop intern

Are you from the area? If not, where?

I’m from Virginia

Tell us a little bit about yourself. (You don’t have to write a novel)

I grew up in Virginia where I also went to school, Lynchburg College. There I gained a degree in technical theatre with a minor in elementary ed. After graduation, I spent a year in Memphis, TN as the scenic charge intern for Playhouse on the Square where we did 21 in one season. When my contract ended, I came to Michigan to work for Meadow Brook Theatre to be the prop intern.

Where is your favorite place to eat in Michigan? What about it is your favorite?

Buddy’s pizza. It’s possibly some the best pizza I’ve ever had and the people are really nice and attentive.

What are some of your favorite things to do? When not being an intern.

I like to watch movies, knit different projects, and read.

How did you find out about this internship? What did you do to apply for the job?

I found out about the job through Backstagejobs.com and sent an email with my resume and digital portfolio to the company.

What was the interview like?

The interview was two parts, first with Sarah Warren and then with Kristen Gribbin. The asked my about my interest in the company, told me what I could expect if I was to be hired, and then asked me about me experience and history. I told them about the different tools and techniques I’d worked with. The rest is history.

What has been your favorite part about this season so far?

I’m going to have to say running Christmas Carol because it was nice to be able to see all the other interns every day. I work in a different building so I only see them for meetings and special projects.

What has been the coolest thing you have done since you started your internship?

Getting to make the new Christmas goose for a Christmas Carol. It was something I got to make by myself and it’s neat to know that it will be in the show for the next 10-15 years.

What are some things that you have learned so far? What else would you like to learn?

So far I’ve learned how to work a patch board during light focus, been exposed to different adhesives, and have learned how to gold leaf. I’m looking forward to this week because I’m getting the chance to work with a finish carpenter on making some fine furniture, which will be a new experience for me.

What is your favorite part about being an intern?

Getting to learn and be exposed to different skills.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years? What do you want to do when your internship is over?

In 5 years I would like to be established enough to start my own children’s theatre both financially and in my career. After my internship is over I want to go on tour with either a national or international touring company.

Thanks Theresa! Don’t forget to get tickets to see Nunset Boulevard by Dan Goggin! It is a great show! Stay tuned…

Casey S. Hibbert© – Guest Blogger

Leave a Reply

