20 Questions with Jake Wood of Lysistrata Jones


JakeW
Jake Wood (Harold Lacedaemonian)

 

Where did you grow up?

I grew up in Farmington Hills.

Where did you go to school?

For high school, I went to Brother Rice in Birmingham and then for college, I went to Oakland University.

What/Who was your inspiration to become an actor?

The Wizard of Oz. My parents showed me that as a kid, as most of our parents did, and I’m pretty sure that just sparked the fire. I also saw a lot of live entertainment as a kid (like Disney on Ice or Sesame Street Live or even touring shows at the Fisher) and that had a big influence on me as well.

What is your biggest fear as an actor?

One of my biggest fears would have to be not being able to perform. This career is so uncertain and not knowing when your next show/performance will be is scary.

What is your dream role?

Now my mom would like me to say the Phantom in the Phantom of the Opera. It was the first stage musical I saw (in Toronto when I was 9) and I was mesmerized. I would really love to get a chance to play the role. But for me, my dream role hasn’t been written yet. I would love to have a role written for me and catered to my talents as well as a chance to work with the creative team on a new character.

What is your biggest dream?

It used to be winning a Tony. Don’t get me wrong, that still is at the top of my list and the ultimate goal but as I’ve gotten older things have changed a bit when you see how difficult this career can be. My biggest dream is to keep performing and just make myself happy. I’m a huge family person, so eventually having a family one day while continuing to perform is my biggest dream. Later in life, hopefully after a few Tonys and a successful career, I would love to run a college theatre program and train young performers.

What is your best/favorite role you have played?

Foreground: Jake Wood (Harold Lacedaemonian) Background: Kathryn Terza (Cleonice Sanchez)
Foreground: Jake Wood (Harold Lacedaemonian)
Background: Kathryn Terza (Cleonice Sanchez)

OOO! Tough question. Now it feels like every show I do just tops the last one in some way. I’d have to go with Lt. Cioffi in Curtains. I did it my senior year of high school and was way too young for the role. I’d love to play it again when I’m age appropriate. The show is a theatre lover’s dream. It’s a throwback to Golden Age musicals and it’s so witty and the music is so fun. The role almost never leaves the stage. He holds the show together. He gets an amazing dance number in the second act. Definitely my favorite role, but I would like to play him again.

Do you have a special prep routine before going on stage?

It varies from show to show. Some shows I like “me” time, just 15 minutes before the show laying down with my iPod in. I almost always have throat coat (tea) with honey, just to get the chords ready to go. Although, most of the time, I just like to
talk and visit with the cast. I think it’s important to have a good relationship with everyone you’re onstage with. It makes me feel comfortable onstage and you have more fun when you’re performing with friends.

Funniest stage blooper?

I’ve been lucky enough not to have a lot of stage bloopers, but one happened yesterday during Lysistrata Jones. We were in the middle of You Go Your Way and I just lost complete control of the basketball and it went flying across the stage.

What was your first impression of this show?

I LOVED the music. I thought it was a lot of fun. It’s like Legally Blonde meets Bring It On meets High School Musical. It felt like a feel-good musical and that’s exactly what it is.

Dancing with a basketball, easy or hard?

Hah! Well, if you scroll up two questions, I guess there is your answer. No, but really, I consider myself a decent basketball player and I’ve played almost every sport in the book but dancing with a basketball was certainly challenging.

How do you feel about pranks?

I think there is a time and place for them, but I really do find them funny.

What is the best prank you have ever pulled?

I’m so good at hiding around a corner and jumping out when someone walks by. Old school, I know, but everyone loves a classic.

So there is a story floating around about a family driving through a neighborhood in downtown Detroit. The family spotted Bigfoot coming out of an abandoned house carrying a stick. Do you believe in Bigfoot?

YES!

Favorite snack food?

Chips and Salsa

Favorite actor?

There are way too many to pick. There are a few that are just givens (Like Meryl Streep and Tom Hanks) but lately, I’ve been on an Emma Thompson kick.

Favorite movie?

The Wizard of Oz

Dream vacation?

Europe. I’ve never been overseas, I don’t even have my passport. My dream vacation would be to visit multiple countries in Europe for an entire summer.

If you could have dinner with anyone in the world living or dead who would it be and why?

Frank Sinatra. He is my idol and my inspiration. I love that whole 60s era of booze and great music. I would love to sit down and have drinks and dinner with him and hang out. And of course, Dean Martin would be at the restaurant bar and
eventually join us for a nitecap…or two.

If you were trapped on a desert island and you could only take two things, what would they be?

A pencil and a sketchpad. I love writing and drawing.

Stay Tuned…

Casey S. Hibbert©

Leave a Reply

