20 Questions with Dave Roy of Lysistrata Jones


Dave Roy (Understudy)
Dave Roy (Understudy)

Where did you grow up?

I grew up in Windsor, Ontario and moved to Livonia, Michigan in the early 00’s.

Where did you go to school?

I attended Public Schools in Livonia and got my BFA in Musical Theatre from Oakland University.

What/Who was your inspiration to become an actor?

I’ve always been inspired by comic actors like Chris Farley, Will Ferrell, Dana Carvey, Jim Carrey. Once I got more into acting I fell in love with “Chameleon”actors, (actors who could play anything and everything). People like Phillip Seymour
Hoffman, Gary Oldman, Daniel Day Lewis, Cate Blanchett.

What is your biggest fear as an actor?

My biggest fear as an actor is to not do justice to the work that I am presenting; to be fake or unbelievable to the audience. I want them to believe everything I do and be true and natural in my art.

What is your dream role?

I would love to be someone larger than life, like Shrek or something ridiculous like that. Anything that would require a lot of hard work and research on my part would be really rewarding to perform every night.

What is your biggest dream?

My biggest dream is to work for the Steppenwolf Theatre Company in Chicago. Really, I just want to be able to spend my life performing and telling important stories to people.

What is your best/favorite role you have played?

This past summer, I played Enjolras in Spiro Productions’ Les Miserables at MBT. I had so much fun being a tough guy and fighting and singing loudly on the barricade.

Do you have a special prep routine before going on stage?

I like to do things that really relax me and put my mind in a focused and excited place. I listen to music or talk with friends in the cast and try to put my mind in a prepared place to go on and do the best I can every night.

Funniest stage blooper?

I played Jud Fry in my high school’s production of Oklahoma! when I was a junior. During the dream ballet, my mind drew a blank and instead of doing a slow motion, choreographed fight scene, I right hooked our Curley and got him right in the nose…real time. He ended up being okay and we laughed a lot about it later on, but I was never more embarrassed.

What was your first impression of this show?

Lysistrata Jones just has infectious music. It’s almost impossible to not bop your head along or bounce your knee when you listen to some of these songs. I’ve loved the energy of the show since day one.

Dancing with a basketball, easy or hard?

As the understudy, I don’t get a lot of opportunity to work with the basketball, but while learning the choreo, it was very difficult keeping the basketball under you while focusing on doing the steps. Props to the guys on the team!

How do you feel about pranks?

I love pulling pranks during shows as long as they don’t go too far. I think it keeps the energy up and keeps everyone on their feet. When you get somebody almost to the point of breaking on stage during a performance, it feels like you’ve just hit the jackpot.

What is the best prank you have ever pulled?

During A Christmas Carol this past December, I decided one day that I was going to put a mole right in the center of my cheek. A big fat one. I didn’t tell anybody about it and when I went on stage to dance during the Fezziwig scene, the look on everybody’s face was priceless. I continued adding more moles throughout the rest of the run every day and it was a blast. If they bottled up that feeling, I would buy all of it.

So there is a story floating around about a family driving through a neighborhood in downtown Detroit. The family spotted Bigfoot coming out of an abandoned house carrying a stick. Do you believe in Bigfoot?

If Bigfoot exists, there is a high chance that he is hanging out in Detroit somewhere. Sure I believe. It’s just a matter of time before we find some concrete evidence. People didn’t believe that there were dinosaurs before we found their bones.

Favorite snack food?

I’m a sucker for Swedish Fish and Chicago Style Popcorn.

Favorite actor?

Definitely either Kevin Spacey or John Malkovich. They’re both the type of guys you either love to love or love to hate. They can play anything and have a very intense focus that demands attention.

Favorite movie?

Tommy Boy is and always will be my favorite. I’ve seen it hundreds of times; own 3 copies of the DVD and the soundtrack. It’s a classic and I would be more than happy to quote any part of the movie.

Dream vacation?

I’d love to experience Europe and go out there without a plan. Just a bag of clothes, my passport and an open mind. There are so many landmarks and cultures of the world that I feel like I need to see.

If you could have dinner with anyone in the world living or dead who would it be and why?

I would love to have dinner with my parents when they were my age. Just to see what they were like and what sort of things they were curious about or going through when they were fresh out of school too.

If you were trapped on a desert island and you could only take two things, what would they be?

I would want to bring a good friend to talk to me and keep my sanity and an inflatable raft so I could attempt to make a getaway.

Stay Tuned…

Casey S. Hibbert©

Leave a Reply

